



Suggestion 43

Raymond Jackson

1 page

From: Sent: To: Subject: Raymond Jackson Wednesday, 8 November 2017 9:16 AM FedRedistribution - SA Preservation of the Electorate of MAYO

To the Redistribution Committee for South Australia,

I write to make suggestions to the South Australian Federal Redistribution currently being undertaken by the Australian Electoral Commission.

I am a constituent of the Federal Division of Mayo.

I understand that there may be the possibility of reducing the number of electoral divisions within South Australia. I do not believe that the Division of Mayo should be abolished in this redistribution process.

As a constituent of Mayo, I know that the collaboration between Federal and Local Government is incredibly important. Mayo includes the entirety of the Adelaide Hills Council, Mount Barker District Council, Alexandrina Council, Victor Harbor Council, The District Council of Yankalilla and the Kangaroo Island Council. To abolish Mayo and split these councils between two or three electorates would mean that my local community is not represented consistently.

I believe the District of Mayo is undergoing considerable growth and that it needs to maintain its existing level of representation to cater for the unique interests of this region.

In an economic and community sense, Mayo contains the vast majority of South Australia's horticulture industry and seven distinct wine regions. I believe it is better that these important businesses and dynamics in our community are represented by someone who understands the issues they are facing, rather than being represented by someone based in the metropolitan area.

At the recent election, the results from the ballot boxes show a consistent vote for our current independent Federal Member. I believe this shows a want across the region for an independent voice in Federal Parliament, and it would be disappointing if this voice was silenced due to the electorate being abolished.

I hope you will consider my submission, and that you will see fit to keep the Division of Mayo as one of the ten electoral divisions in South Australia.

Yours sincerely, Raymond Jackson