



## Comment on suggestion 30

Michael Burke 3 pages From: Sent: To: Subject:

Friday, 15 December 2017 5:09 PM FedRedistribution - SA Comments on Submissions – SA Redistribution 2017

From: Michael Burke

To:

SA Redistribution Secretariat

Australian Electoral Commission

South Australia

I wish to provide some general commentary on the submissions ,excluding the large number regarding Division of Mayo, which I see fall into two groups:

- (1) Group 1 Abolish (and/or Rename) Port Adelaide or Hindmarsh Submissions #1, 127(rename Pt Adelaide to Angas), 128, 180, 186, 201, 206 (rename Pt Adelaide to Indigenous name)
- (2) Group 2- Abolish Sturt or Adelaide #127 (Abolish Adelaide), 182 (Abolish Adelaide or Sturt), 204 (Abolish Sturt), 208 (Abolish Sturt), 211(Abolish Adelaide)

By "merging" the Divisions of Hindmarsh and Port Adelaide for the West/North West Metro area of Adelaide and adjust the other metro Division boundaries accordingly, as per the submissions in Group 1, this would appear to give a balance distribution of Divisions across the whole of the Greater Adelaide Metro area as per the table I have created below.

Metro Area		Created
(Group 1)	Current DIVISION name	
Outer North	Wakefield *	1903
North/North		1984
East	Makin	
West/	Hindmarsh/	1903
North West	Port Adelaide *	1949
CBD and		
Inner –		
		1903
North, South,	Adelaide	1700
East and/or		
West		

East/South		1949
East	Sturt *	
South/South		1903
West	Boothby	
Outer South	Kingston	1949

Those submissions in Group 2 – advocating for either Adelaide or Sturt to be abolished would likely create an "inbalance" in the distribution of Divisions across the Metro area.

The Boundaries of the Divisions as drawn in Suggestion 128 give a good balance as a starting point based on the geography of Adelaide – with the coast on the West and the Adelaide Hills on the East.

A small comment - The area covered by the wetlands and salt pans at the SW Corner of Wakefield on the Map in Suggestion 128 could be added to the Division of Makin or "Hindmarsh/Port Adelaide", so that the whole of Port River Expressway and the new Northern Connector to the Bolivar Rd Exit is within the same Division.

Refer Map -

https://www.infrastructure.sa.gov.au/\_\_data/assets/image/0007/393469/Northern\_Connector\_Alignment\_M ap\_2017\_with\_border.png

I wish to add the following comments regarding the naming of Divisions:

For those Divisions marked \* in my table above I believe there are strong cases to "rename" these Divisions – based on historical boundary changes and the history of the "namesakes" esp Wakefield.

As per the reasons given in suggestion 208 - The Division of Sturt should at least be renamed.

I believe Mr Boothby was the Returning for only the "Division of South Australia at the 1901 Election" not the "Returning Officer for the first election of Members of the House of Representatives in 1901" as stated on the AEC website. As Mr Boothby was responsible for the creating the boundaries of the original seven South Australia Divisions and died in 1903 it is appropriate that a Division called Boothby be retained. The Division of Boothby (Originally proposed to be named East Torrens by Mr Boothby) was the one of the original Divisions of the Adelaide Metro area – based on the Eastern and Southern suburbs until the 1949 expansion when the seats of Port Adelaide, Kingston and Sturt were created. Mr Lee Batchelor one of the original seven members elected from South Australia was the First member for Boothby (having defeated Vaiben Solomon) and held the seat of Boothby from 1903-1911 until his death (age 46). Mr Batchelor was the 1<sup>st</sup> Minister for the Northern Territory and 1<sup>st</sup> Minister to have died in office.

## http://adb.anu.edu.au/biography/batchelor-egerton-lee-82

A number of submissions had points relating to possible Division renaming:

Suggestion #127 - As Angas was a rural Division which has twice been abolished I believe it isn't appropriate to reuse this "Federation" Division name again for a largely Metro area such as Pt Adelaide. The former 'Federal Division' of Angas "merged" with Wakefield into what became a large Division in 1934. The majority of this area of Wakefield is now within the Division of Grey.

As an alternative to the suggestion of Angas for Port Adelaide another option for a merged "Hindmarsh/Port Adelaide" is to rename this Division after one of the seven first members elected for South Australia. Eg Lee Batchelor

Mr Lee Batchelor one of the original seven members elected from South Australia, was the First member for Boothby (having defeated Vaiben Solomon) and held the seat of Boothby from 1903-1911 until his

death (age 46). Mr Batchelor was the 1<sup>st</sup> Minister for the Northern Territory and 1<sup>st</sup> Minister to have died in office.

## http://adb.anu.edu.au/biography/batchelor-egerton-lee-82

- Suggestion #210 point 18 mentioned an option to "reinstate" the name Bonython (which existed from 1955 to 2004) rather than
  continuing the name Wakefield if the boundaries are based largely upon the former abolished Division. Wakefield was largely a
  rural seat for all its history and what remained of the Division was "merged" with Bonython in the 2003 Redistribution. Any shift in
  the boundary of Grey further South into Wakefield would mean that the remaining portion of the rural area of Wakefield has in
  effect been abolished.
- Suggestion #186 Mentioned it should be desirable at some point to have a Division named after Rt Hon Sir Frederick Holder, The First Speaker of the House of Representative (1901-1909).

Given that Sir Frederick Holder died in office in 1909, whilst the Speaker (see below Newspapers extract), and over 100 years has since passed that due consideration be given to renaming a Division during the current redistribution. Sir Frederick Holder was elected in 1901 was the First Member for Wakefield until his death. Therefore, an alternative is to rename "Wakefield" to "Holder" on any new boundary.

http://adb.anu.edu.au/biography/holder-sir-frederick-william-6706

Below link provides a consolidation of Newspapers Articles from the time:

http://users.adam.com.au/easby/Chapter%2010%20-%20The%20Death%20of%20Sir%20Frederick%20Holder.html

SA Advertiser, Saturday 24th July 1909.

## DEATH OF SIR FREDERICK HOLDER

A SUDDEN AND TRAGIC END FALLS AT THE POST OF DUTY

Melbourne, July 23

The Speaker of the House of Representatives (Sir Frederick Holder) had a paralytic seizure early this morning in the Chamber. He was carried in an unconscious state into the Speaker's room.

Sir Frederick had been in the chair as the Old Age Pensions Bill was being put through all its stages. Having taken a seat on the Treasury benches, he was chatting to the Minister of Home Affairs (Mr Fuller) when he suddenly fell forward on the floor.

The end came at 4.18 pm, when Sir Frederick Holder passed away without perceptible sign or movement of any sort, and without having regained consciousness from the time of his seizure, less than 12 hours previously. Dr Salmon was in close attendance to the last. Mr Batchelor, Mr R Mitchell (the Parliament housekeeper), and Mr Quigley (the Speaker's personal attendant) were also by the bedside when Mr Speaker received his call. A flag was immediately hoisted at half-mast on the Parliament Buildings.