Formal commencement of redistributions in Victoria, South Australia and the ACT

Updated: 4 September 2017

Redistributions of federal electoral boundaries in Victoria, South Australia and the ACT have formally commenced today.

The redistribution processes were triggered following a determination on Thursday of the number of members of the House of Representatives to which each state and territory will be entitled at the next federal general election.

Australian Electoral Commissioner, Tom Rogers said that the formal commencement of these redistributions sets a timeframe for the determination of each process.

“The Electoral Commission met promptly on Friday to direct the commencement of redistributions following Thursday’s determination,” Mr Rogers said.

“Based on population changes, it was determined Victoria and the ACT would each gain one seat and South Australia would lose one seat at the next federal election.”

Independent Redistribution Committees will be appointed to each redistribution and the Committees will be supported by small secretariats of staff from the AEC.

The redistribution process provides opportunities for individuals and organisations to propose where the electoral division boundaries could be located, or the name of an electoral division.

Members of the public will be invited to submit their suggestions about the redistribution. Guidelines are available to assist people or organisations interested in submitting their suggestions.

Indicative timetables for each federal redistribution process are available at

Editor’s notes:

  • The Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918 requires a redistribution of federal electoral divisions to occur when the number of members of the House of Representatives to which a state or territory is entitled has changed.
  • The changed entitlements are:
    • Victoria: Increase from 37 to 38 seats
    • ACT: Increase from two to three seats
    • SA: Decrease from 11 to 10 seats
  • Further information about federal redistribution processes