Three levels of government in Australia

There are three levels of government in Australia. Representatives at each level of government are elected by voters.

The role of the federal Parliament is set out in the Australian Constitution.

States have their own constitutions and the Australian Capital Territory and Northern Territory have self–government Acts which outline the powers of their legislative assemblies.

Local governments (also known as local councils) are established by state parliaments to meet the needs of local communities.

Federal matters:

- Defence
- Income tax
- Immigration
- Social welfare
- External affairs



State and territory matters:

- Schools
- Hospitals
- Public transport
- Electricity
- Police and ambulance services

Local matters:

- Rubbish collection
- Parks
- Libraries and art galleries
- Pet registration
- Local roads

