How to vote

Updated: 29 November 2016

Bennelong by-election

A by-election is currently underway for the Division of Bennelong (16 December 2017).

Information about how to vote is available in other languages.

All Australian citizens over the age of 18 who are enrolled to vote, elect people to represent them in the two houses of the Commonwealth Parliament – the Senate and the House of Representatives.

The House of Representatives

Australia is divided into areas called electoral divisions. Voters in each electoral division cast a vote to elect one person (a Member of Parliament) to represent them in the House of Representatives.

The Senate

Voters in each state and territory elect Senators to represent them in the Senate. States have 12 Senators and the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory each have 2 Senators.


At a referendum, you will receive a ballot paper with the proposed alteration to the Constitution.